Listen to the Veritas Radio Network

Red Pill Reading

“Truth is sacred; and if you tell the truth too often nobody will believe it.”-Chesterton
17 June 2015

Interview with Chuck Thompson, Author of “Better Off Without ’em”

Mandeville, LA –This Clip of The Day was originally aired and published on Nov 30,2013 and is part of the Founders Pass Flashback Collection.

Exclusive Audio and Transcript – On today’s show, Chuck Thompson, author of “Better Off Without ’em” joined Mike for a friendly discussion about secession.  Chuck believes that the North and South have gone their separate ways for over 200 years not only in politics, but also in culture, so why not have an amicable split?  There are, of course, a few details that Mike and Chuck disagree on (like Texas going to the North?) but the overall idea is basically the same, that the more local the government, the better for everyone involved.  For more with Chuck, check out today’s transcript and a clip from his interview…

FOLKS, a message from Mike – The Audio Clip of The Day files, Project 76 feature presentations, Church Doctrine audio & video clips and everything else on this site are supported by YOU. We have over 70, of my personally designed, written, produced and directed products for sale in the Founders Tradin’ Post, 24/7,  here. You can also support our efforts with a Founders Pass membership granting total access to years of My work for just .17 cents per day. Not convinced? Take the tour! Thanks for 18 years of mike! – Mike


Members Only Access The Founders Pass

You are missing out on crucial commentary video, audio and exclusive downloads!

See What You Are Missing Take The Tour!

OR Join Now

Franklin Approves!

Begin Mike Church Show Transcript

Mike:  Chuck, good to have you with us.  Thanks for stopping by.  Welcome to the program.  How are you?

Chuck Thompson:  I’m doing all right.  Thanks for having me on.

Mike:  I hadn’t seen the cover of the book until I went and looked at it on Friday night with the big St. Andrew’s cross with the stars across it, the Southern rebel battle flag, on the cover of the book.  Tell the audience a little bit about the book.

Chuck:  Well, the book is pretty simple.  It’s a modern take on the contemporary South from the Northern, liberal, lefty, loathsome, socialist point of view, from the point of view of me and I think a lot of people actually.  One of the things I’d hoped to do with this book is articulate what seems to me to be this growing dissatisfaction and frustration and at times outright anger and hostility on the part of some Northern liberals and even Southern liberals about the current political state of the conservative South.  There are a lot of ways to define the South.  You can lump it into anywhere from 12 to 16 or 17 states.  A lot of people say that the South is a state of mind, since we all know

For exclusive access to the rest of today’s Mike Church Show transcript please sign up for a Founders Pass (take the Founders Pass Tour) or if you’re already a member, make sure you are logged in!

Members Only Access The Founders Pass

You are missing out on crucial commentary video, audio and exclusive downloads!

See What You Are Missing Take The Tour!

OR Join Now

Franklin Approves!

End Mike Church Show Transcript

Print Friendly

9 Responses

  1. AnesMerc

    Texas will never, I repeat, NEVER join the likes of any State in the vein of NY, NJ, CT, or California. Ever. Get that out of your mind. They will be more likely to break away completely. Great interview, I just ordered the book. Thanks.

  2. CitizenoftheSouth

    I cant wait for the confederacy to rise form its ashes.Im not sure if the rest of the country knows it but ALL of us true southerns have always had Dixie in our hearts and are just waiting….Deo vindice

  3. David

    I just finished reading the book. Loved it. Reminds me a little of Joel Garreau’s book, “The Nine Nations of North America”… I believe Chuck is on to something here. The current political rhetoric between liberals and conservatives, Northeast/Southeast looks more and more like a couple in a bad marriage on the verge of a divorce (but just don’t know it yet, or at least they are not ready to say the word “divorce” out loud).

  4. Bobloblaw

    The left’s problem isn’t with the south, the left’s problem is with reality. The left simply uses the south as a scapegoat as a reason for the failure of utopia to be created when leftwing policies are put into practice. Liberalism isnt suppose to fail. After all liberals are people with such good intentions.

  5. Ed Brewer

    The problem he doesn’t address is that the people in ” flyover country” of the midwest, Great Plains, and Rocky Mountain States don’t have anything more in common with the northeast liberals than the southerners do. If seseesion were ever allowed to take place, then these regions would also want to be ” independent ” from the dictates of big government Washington too. The bigger problem is more of a big city progressives vs the rest of the country difference that giving one region the freedom to be apart will not fix, but it would be a start to allowing other areas also to break off.

    1. TheKingDude

      The problem is deeper and more broad than just political disagreements, there is the issue of scale AND the issues of lifestyle/culture that separates regions and areas from one another. The “Rethinking The American Union” book, autographed by the author, in the Founders Tradin’ Post on this site (click a “Shop” link at top of any page) explains this in marvelous detail.

  6. CHris B

    Great interview and Mr. Thompson sounds like an intelligent and decent guy. The one issue I have with some of this is the feeling that the North would “need” Texas for economic reasons. That is very telling, in that it seems to indicate that the North would not be able to “make it on their own” and that they may not have faith or confidence in their own economic system or principles. As a result they would need to “take” a southern state to keep their engine running. I feel they should truly put their money where their mouth is and truly test their economic believes and go it alone.

    1. TheKingDude

      Texas will never agree to be consumed/subsumed or subjugated by the Northern Confederation, which might bring about the hostilities many fear. Yanks would have to choose between their “pristine” oceans and gasoline for their Bentleys as they have HUGE reserves laying at the bottom of the Atlantic.

Leave a Reply

The EBT Song // Mike Church Show Band - Anthology
  1. The EBT Song // Mike Church Show Band - Anthology